Reviews

What people are saying about The Balkan Lodge Hotel




Week end at Balkan Lodge - Rating 5/5

It was a real pleasure spending my last week end at Balkan Lodge hotel in Oxford.The friendly atmosphere, comfortable room and last but not least, nice people, made my stay perfect.

Reviewer:Catalin Boeru | Tue 12th Dec 2017


One Day Visit to Oxford for concert. - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel, very clean, very courteous and friendly staff. Well presented and well cooked breakfast. Conveniently situated on the \'3\' and \'3A\' bus route into Oxford. Ample free parking. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:STUART NAYLOR | Mon 11th Dec 2017


Nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

It\'s a cosy nice small hotel. Very clean rooms, decent breakfast. Easy commuting to the center. Much better than small B&B around.

Reviewer:Olga Shurygina | Sun 10th Dec 2017


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Easy to find, ample parking, friendly staff, very clean, good breakfast, fast check-in / checkout. Definitely stay again.Thanks!

Reviewer:Tan Hughes | Fri 8th Dec 2017


Friendly and clean room - Rating 4/5

Good value for money and a most pleasant stay.Wanted to give 4 1/2.Easy access to Oxford but a lot less than the town centre hotels.

Reviewer:Jenny Harris | Mon 27th Nov 2017


Unpretentious convenience- Rating 4/5

Comfortable;good breakfast;within easy and picturesque walk of city centre along river towpath

Reviewer:michael bernard gilpin | Mon 20th Nov 2017


Very good stay - Rating 4/5

A warm welcome awaited us on arrival. Made to feel at home. Accommodation and food were very good. Balkan Lodge was well located for us, close to city centre(15 min walk), frequent bus service, ample parking at Lodge. A new location for future stays for us in Oxford. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Laurence Nash | Sat 18th Nov 2017


Cheap and cheerful. - Rating 4/5

Good location close to Oxford city centre, with parking at an affordable price. Rooms a little date, and shower in a bath, with very thin, cheap and old towels but apart from that a very good trip.Staff were really helpful throughout.

Reviewer:Brian Davies | Thu 16th Nov 2017


Long weekend - Rating 4/5

Well maintained and furnished. Excellently clean. Good, freshly cooked breakfast. Close by bus service to the city. Helpful host.A great place to sleep when visiting Oxford.

Reviewer:Brian Goody | Thu 16th Nov 2017


Wonderful experience in Balkan Lodge in Oxford - Rating 5/5

The Lodge is a great place to stay. It is clean, has all things you expect from a lodge. The breakfast is personlized and great, the people are friendly and nice. You really feel on vacation when staying there. IN addtion, down town is on a walkable distance (20 min), the lodge is well reachbable by car.

Reviewer:Mr Michiel Bots | Sun 5th Nov 2017


Comfortable stay with free parking! - Rating 4/5

I stayed in a comfortable single room with all the facilities I needed for a one night stayFree parking is an added bonus in Oxford, well placed for both the city recentre by bus and places outside of Oxford via the ring roadBreakfast was a huge choice of serve yourself with freshly cooked delicious options, filter coffee was a bonus tooFriendly staff, easy check in and outCould maybe look at triple glazing for front rooms?

Reviewer:Anita Bennett | Fri 3rd Nov 2017


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely weekend in Oxford, helped by comfortable rooms with all the facilities expected. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice, and hosts were very helpful and friendly. Good value for money.

Reviewer:Patricia Jones | Mon 30th Oct 2017


Family visit - Rating 4/5

Very conveniently situated hotel near our family and not too far to walk into the city. Really good well cooked breakfast with good choices.

Reviewer:Mrs Needham | Mon 30th Oct 2017


Balkan Lodge Oxford- Rating 3/5

Very clean. Good food. Polite accommodating staff

Reviewer:Helen Bannister | Tue 24th Oct 2017


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Fìrst time staying here and would definitely recommend it.... clean, tidy , lovely room , nice breakfast,easy parking and hotel staff poitie and curtious

Reviewer:Michael Shirley | Mon 23rd Oct 2017


Excellent - Rating 5/5

As I have already put it in the title everything was excellent. Accomodation, breakfast and stuff. I really enjoyed my time.

Reviewer:Bruno Atalic | Wed 18th Oct 2017


Surprisingly good...!!! - Rating 5/5

It doesn\'t look amazing from the outside and the internal decor is a little dated, but it is wonderfully clean and tidy, well decorated, comfortable and the host was extremely accommodating towards my late arrival and early breakfast requests. Can\'t fault the place really and would happily stay there again

Reviewer:Mr Costin | Fri 13th Oct 2017


- Rating 5/5

Reviewer:| Tue 10th Oct 2017


Great for weekend stay in oxford - Rating 5/5

This is our second visit ,and would recommend this hotel.very clean and comfortable rooms ,really helpful staff,secure car park free wifi and an easy bus journey into city centre.if we need to come again to Oxford we will stay here

Reviewer:Paul Davis | Mon 9th Oct 2017


Two good friends - Rating 4/5

Excellent location for easy access to city centre.Efficient dealing with reservation process.Not a speck of dust to be seen.Valuable carparking facility and delicious freshly cooked breakfast.Just one comment ... aged towels in bathroom could do with replacing!!

Reviewer:Mrs Gill King | Mon 9th Oct 2017


Mr - Rating 4/5

I enjoyed the one night stay. Very clean accommodation and clean bath .The customer service of the receptionist was first class.I can’t wait to lodge at Balkan Lodge again ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Reviewer:Alex Mensah | Mon 9th Oct 2017


Very Good - Rating 5/5

Cannot fault this well located small hotel. Very well run and immaculately clean we would definitely stay at Balkan Lodge again.

Reviewer:Stephen Hickey | Thu 28th Sep 2017


Comfortable and Inviting - Rating 5/5

The host was a congenial, helpful man. The site was clean and comfortable. An amazing, made- to- order breakfast is included. For example, one option is the English bacon, sausage, toast, and beans.A fifteen minute walk brings you to the heart of Oxford. It is on a bus line that goes to downtown Oxford or to Wallingford, a charming village on the Thames. This is where the \"Midsommer Murder\"series was filmed.

Reviewer:Dita Erika Hagen | Thu 28th Sep 2017


September weekend - Rating 4/5

All we needed. We\'d recommend The Balkan Lodge Hotel. Easyto get to town centre and back (buses or walking - leave your car at the Balkan). Great. 4 stars \'cause we never give 5.

Reviewer:Mr R Boston | Tue 26th Sep 2017


Comfort and convenience - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our one night stay;all very modern and clean, and a great breakfast. Easy to find, easy to park, and a good walk or easy bus ride into the centre. Busy traffic might trouble light sleepers.

Reviewer:Mary Ibbett | Tue 26th Sep 2017


Good- Rating 4/5

Clean comfortable with a good breakfast.Great location with the hop on hop off bus going past the door.A couple of good restaurants nearby.

Reviewer:Elizabeth Rayner | Mon 25th Sep 2017


My Stay - Rating 5/5

Very clean and tidy good place to stay, I also liked I wasn’t charged for parking which a lot of places do, no complaints I would stay again.

Reviewer:David Bowen | Sat 23rd Sep 2017


Stayed for three nights - Rating 5/5

The Lodge was very clean with helpful and friendly staff. Within walking distance of town with excellent transport routes. This makes the Balken Lodge an ideal location. We had a great three night stay.

Reviewer:Andy Maplesden | Sat 23rd Sep 2017


Really lovely place - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 days and everything was absolutely perfect. Lovely room and great bathroom, really good mattress. The owners are very kind and helpful.We\'ll definitely come back!

Reviewer:Frances Hemphill | Mon 18th Sep 2017


Great option - Rating 5/5

It\'s a great choice:The service is very good, the food is also good, and its location is convenient (not exactly in the city centre) but it\'s within a reasonable walking distance.

Reviewer:Ruben Gonzalez | Mon 18th Sep 2017


Very accommodating staff - Rating 5/5

I arrived very late at almost 2:00am and they waited up late to make sure that I get to check-in. Lovely people and super clean bathrooms!

Reviewer:Zandie Bonagua | Fri 15th Sep 2017


Stay - Rating 4/5

Stay was very comfortable, Room was simple and stylish. Breakfast was great as was the staff.

Reviewer:Angela McIntosh | Thu 14th Sep 2017


B&B \'Gem\' in Oxford - Rating 5/5

“This B&B accommodation is excellent &highly recommended. The property, both inside &out, is immaculate, spotlessly clean &tidy, very well maintained &presented. Our room was very comfortable &quiet with very good wifi reception. Lovely lounge &bar available for guests\' use was a most welcome facility. The \'full breakfast\' was tasty &generous &on-site car-parking easily accessible &had enough spacing for all guests. Location was very convenient to central Oxford - 45 minutes walk or 10 minutes bus ride (Buses 3 or 3A) - bus stop about 100 metres from accommodation. Host, John, was very friendly &helpful. This B&B will enhance your enjoyment &stay in Oxford - look no further !”(Australian Couple - Stayed 2 Nights - July 2017)

Reviewer:Jennifer Page | Mon 21st Aug 2017


a weekend in Oxford - Rating 5/5

Our stay was great. The accomodatios was very satisfying. The location, the room with the bathroom and the breakfast were all pleasant. We really enjoyed our weekend!

Reviewer:Corinne Herpoel | Tue 8th Aug 2017


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Are stay was excellent and great customer service. Wolud stay again.

Reviewer:keith gleaves | Mon 7th Aug 2017


Lovely Hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel was very clean. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Within easy reach of Oxford by bus or lovely walk along the Thames. Would certainly recommend.

Reviewer:Elfed Jones | Sat 5th Aug 2017


Weekend - Rating 4/5

Clean, friendly and good location for our purpose. Good choice of breakfast and reasonable price for Oxford.

Reviewer:Mrs. Penny Harvey | Tue 1st Aug 2017


Clean room and good breakfast - Rating 4/5

The room is clean and comfortableThe breakfast is very niceA nice place to stay in oxford

Reviewer:Un I Ng | Mon 31st Jul 2017


Very pleasant - Rating 5/5

Room was clean and tidy. Friendly welcome and efficient service for breakfast. Couldn\'t ask for more.

Reviewer:Rachel Sculley | Sun 30th Jul 2017


A pleasant time at the BLH - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at he BHL. We got a very well cooked breakfast, the rooms were comfortable and clean and our hosts did everything to keep us smiling. If you don\'t mind to have a walk of about half an hour to the city, the BHL is perfect for visiting Oxford. Of course you can also use the bus or a taxi to Oxford city, but have in mind the lovely way along the river Themse will calm you down after visiting the overcrowded city centre.

Reviewer:Fabian Rips | Tue 25th Jul 2017


A great two night stay - Rating 5/5

This was a lovely, clean and modern guesthouse. The location was just as we hoped, with free parking and a pleasant walk into the City. The breakfast was excellent quality and the hosts were accommodating and helpful. We would stay again and recommend it.

Reviewer:Alyson Gidney | Tue 25th Jul 2017


Warm friendly and relaxing - Rating 5/5

Felt well looked after - good breakfast - very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere room clean and comfortable bed

Reviewer:Andrew Smith | Mon 24th Jul 2017


Brilliant \'Gem\'B&B in Oxford - Rating 5/5

This B&B accommodation is excellent &highly recommended. The property, both inside &out, is immaculate, spotlessly clean &tidy, very well maintained &presented. Our room was very comfortable &quiet with very good wifi reception. Lovely lounge &bar for guests\' use was a most welcome facility. The \'full breakfast\' was tasty &generous &on-site car-parking easily accessible &had enough spaces for all guests. Location is very convenient for central Oxford - 45 minute walk or 10 minutes bus ride (Bus 3 or 3A) - bus stop about 100 metres from accommodation. (For those who enjoy Nepalese/Indian cuisine - a great restaurant \'Everest Nepalese\' nearby in Howard Street.) Host, John, is very friendly &helpful &promptly replies to email communication. This B&B will enhance your enjoyment &stay in Oxford - look no further !

Reviewer:Jennifer Page | Sat 22nd Jul 2017


Value for money- Rating 4/5

A very clean hotel with all the facilities you need for a comfortable stay. Lovely garden area and public places clean spotless and welcoming. Rooms small a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. Owner was great sooo polite and a lovely sense of humour.A great little find in an over rated and expensive industry in Oxford.

Reviewer:Cheryl Evans | Wed 19th Jul 2017


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel on first and last night of a 1 week visit in UK. Good value for money. Nice and clean rooms, very friendly and helpful reception personnel, car park available at the back. We sincerely recommend this small and cosy hotel.

Reviewer:Dag Morfelt | Wed 19th Jul 2017


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the hotel on first and last night of a 1 week visit in UK. Good value for money. Nice and clean rooms, very friendly and helpful reception personnel, car park available at the back. We sincerely recommend this small and cosy hotel.

Reviewer:Dag Morfelt | Wed 19th Jul 2017


Nice stay close to the city - Rating 4/5

We had a really nice stay in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and gave very good suggestions. The rooms were small but very clean. The breakfast was very good.Only one suggestion ...The curtains were very light. We woke up very early every day because of the light from outside.Thanks for the very nice stay!

Reviewer:Inge De Cleyn | Sat 8th Jul 2017


Good Value B&B Hotel near Oxford - Rating 4/5

Good breakfast made with speed &excecution by receptionist/chef. Local knowledge on taxis &bus fares &drop off points in Oxford was brief &to the point. Very convenient on Iffley Road.

Reviewer:David Ogg | Tue 4th Jul 2017


Neighborhood outside of town - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and quiet. Polite and friendly manager. Easy to bus into town if you don\'t have a car.

Reviewer:Nancy Schneberger | Mon 3rd Jul 2017


Totally satsfied - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was spotless, inside and out and the level of service was excellent. We were particularly grateful that, having arrived much later than intended for a wedding locally, the hotel quickly organised a taxi into Oxford and saved the day.

Reviewer:MartinKearns | Mon 3rd Jul 2017


My stay at Balkan Lodge Hotel - Rating 5/5

Good place for relex and delicious breakfast.

Reviewer:Wing Ching JoeTang | Wed 28th Jun 2017


Good value for money - Rating 5/5

Great service, clean and at a walking distance to the city center

Reviewer:Beatriz Diez Esperanza | Wed 28th Jun 2017


glenn - Rating 5/5

very clean and pleasant hotel, with friendly host. ideal location for our visit to oxford and Blenheim palace. nice breakfast.

Reviewer:Glenn Lawrence | Mon 26th Jun 2017


Family stay at Balkan Lodge - Rating 4/5

This was our 2nd stay at Balkan Lodge. Great value for money. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Great breakfast. I would recommend this to anyone.

Reviewer:Neil Clark | Sat 24th Jun 2017


Excellent short break - Rating 5/5

John the host was welcoming, pleasant and could not be more helpful. Hotel was spotlessly clean and the location made it easy to get into city

Reviewer:Terry Stroud | Sat 24th Jun 2017


Very welcoming - Rating 4/5

The hotel was very welcoming and checin was very efficient.we were there on the hottest day of the year. Although there was no air conditionig, the room felt cool. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We left early and did not have the breckfast.

Reviewer:IanBelcher | Fri 23rd Jun 2017


Can\'t fault the hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation,would highly recommend

Reviewer:DAVID EVANS | Fri 16th Jun 2017


All good - Rating 5/5

Excellent value accommodation with good car parking close to Oxford. Friendly welcome, room had all we needed, full English breakfast was freshly cooked and really tasty. Bus stop outside - 10 mins to centre or lots of taxix.

Reviewer:Glenys Timmons | Wed 14th Jun 2017


Very nice personal - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Balkan Lodge. The room was clean and comfortable. Besides, the personal was very efficient and welcoming. We also enjoyed the breakfast. We really recommend it :)

Reviewer:Barbara Cusachs | Mon 12th Jun 2017


A real find in Oxford - Rating 5/5

I was delighted with the accommodation. I have stayed in Oxford a few times and enjoyed this hotel the most. Access to the centre is so easy. The room was very comfortable and clean .Breakfast was excellent. The fact that the owner runs the property makes all the difference. I will definitely be back

Reviewer:Josephine Casey | Mon 12th Jun 2017


Warm welcome and a yummy breakfast. - Rating 4/5

Met with a warm welcome from the host. We were able to check in early, given great advice about where to go in Oxford. The room was spotless. Breakfast was yummy. We had a great stay at Balkan Lodge and hope to return soon.

Reviewer:Helen Ingman | Mon 12th Jun 2017


Great hotel- Rating 5/5

Looks great inside and out. Lovely kept gardens. Inside nice and clean full of pictures and plants. Lovely clean room/ ensuite.Bed was very comfortable. Hotel manager very welcoming and helpful. Everything you could possibly want at breakfast which was 7pnd PPP. Would happily stay again.

Reviewer:jacqueline harvey | Sun 11th Jun 2017


great experience - Rating 5/5

had a wonderful time there. Comfortable bed, clean room and friendly staff. I had everything I needed to relax after a long day and get a good nights sleep. Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Melanie Dembinsky | Sat 10th Jun 2017


ONLY ONE NIGHT - Rating 4/5

Easy to find, great location if you don\'t mind a stroll into town or by the river.Free parking, clean, friendly and welcoming.I only stayed one night but will definitely stay here again when next in Oxford.

Reviewer:Gerald Garratty | Sat 10th Jun 2017


Very homely and freindly- Rating 5/5

We found this hotel to be perfect for our trip.the owner was very helpful and friendly .the hotel itself was immaculately clean and breakfast was very good

Reviewer:paul davis | Mon 5th Jun 2017


Great value and location - Rating 5/5

Whilst hunting for somewhere to stay in Oxford for two couples spending the day perusing the city and planning for a theatre event in the evening we soon discovered that staying anywhere in the city centre would be very expensive. The Balkan Lodge Hotel was the perfect alternative, a little way out of the city but easily accessible via a short bus ride or taxi journey. Better still, the hotel is just down the road from the River Towpath which presents you with a glorious walk into town (about 25-30 minutes) I would recommend this option, it really made our day.The hotel itself was ideal for our needs for one night, plenty of parking, pretty well kept gardens front and back, small but clean and smart rooms, lovely breakfast and most important:friendly, helpful people! Great choice!

Reviewer:Mr. John Warne | Mon 5th Jun 2017


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Excellent hospitality with a very obliging and friendly manager who could not do enough for you.Hotel spotlessly clean with onsite car parking. Easy access to city by bus.Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr Milburn | Wed 31st May 2017


Immaculate hotel - Rating 5/5

We knew this hotel was not going to be grand, or an architectural masterpiece, but it was spotlessly clean, nice staff, and the breakfast was great too! Also enough parking that we could leave our car there and go off for the afternoon, ditto the following morning after checkout - this is a plus in Oxford. Very satisfied.

Reviewer:Brian Morgan | Tue 30th May 2017


Fantastic bank holiday stay at the Balkan in Oxford - Rating 5/5

The Balkan was an excellent place to stay;the own, who has had the hotel for twenty-two years, was extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived to when we departed.The rooms were a good size, shower was good and the breakfast was fantastic. It only took us half an hour to walk in to the centre of the city along the picturesque path next to the Thames.Cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and it was very good value as we stayed over the May bank holiday so book early!!Will definitely go back to the Balkan hotel when we return to the area again.P.S. As we were walking around Oxford we did not see many hotels at all in the centre

Reviewer:Wendy Parkhurst | Tue 30th May 2017


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

It was a great place to stay, location was good, and the room was really clean. What more could you want?

Reviewer:Ben Redpath | Tue 30th May 2017


Nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly owner, we found a spotless clean room incl. bath in a well maintained house. The full english breakfast is very good and after you feel fit for the day and Oxford. A bus stop is just 1 minute away, so the city centre is easy to reach. Free Car parking in the back of the house. We come again.

Reviewer:Hartmut Fenstermann | Sun 21st May 2017


O2 Academy gig and sightseeing - Rating 5/5

Nice clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff and free wifi. Good price for Oxford hotels and ideally placed for the O2 Academy and sightseeing in Oxford (both approx 20 mins walk). Nice cooked breakfast and breakfast selection and free car parking.

Reviewer:Keith Sokulski | Sat 20th May 2017


Excellent attention - Rating 4/5

Excellent attention and perfect breakfast.

Reviewer:Maria Jose Torres Aboal | Fri 19th May 2017


Weekend with Mum - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay - very clean, welcoming and friendly. The staff and John the Manager couldn\'t do enough and we felt very happy to be there

Reviewer:Lorraine Gunn | Mon 15th May 2017


The Balkan Lodge Hotel Oxford - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, clean accommodation. Friendly welcoming staff. Excellent breakfast selection. Ideally located for Oxford City Centre and the River Thames.

Reviewer:Mrs Reeks | Mon 15th May 2017


Last minute booking - Rating 4/5

Everything at The Balkan Lodge Hotel was clean and tidy with a very good welcome and good choice at breakfast. Fitted our requirements perfectly.

Reviewer:Mr. AndrewRead | Fri 12th May 2017


Positieve revieuw - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant people in the hotel.Hotel itself very good for visiting oxford but also a good base for cartrips to the cotswalds.

Reviewer:arthur slavenburg | Sun 7th May 2017


Loveley clean hotel - Rating 5/5

Hotel was amazingly clean and tidy. Will book to stay there again.Though shame breakfast was not included in price.

Reviewer:MARK HUDSON | Fri 5th May 2017


All perfectly correct. - Rating 4/5

I would definietly recommend this hotel to my friends. Nice service , clean rooms, decent price.

Reviewer:krystian zielinski | Wed 3rd May 2017


Great one night stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly, helpful staff. Very comfortable and clean. Good location - within walking distance of centre and also on bus route. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Louisa Hall | Wed 3rd May 2017


good english hotel - Rating 5/5

Very kind hotel owner. Very good personally waited breakfast. Nice cosey rooms. Very good beds. Free Carpark. Hotel is well situated.We will certainly come back.

Reviewer:Paul Stockman | Sat 29th Apr 2017


Lovely clean hotel, superb breakfast - Rating 4/5

Warm friendly and inviting, lovely place to stay, clean comfortable bedroom, larger than a standard single bed, very comfy, tastefully decorated room, very small ensuite with great shower though! Towels could have been a little more luxurious (fraid round the edges) i was in room 2 which was at the front of the property which there was road noise ( even with the windows closed ) plenty of tea and coffee with biscuits in the room, a tv and phone, dressing table and wardrobe plenty of space for hanging clothes. On site car park. Would stay again ( needed to stay close to john radcliffe hospital ) having said that i did feel a little overpriced ? But the friendly clean and attention made up for this

Reviewer:Amanda Edmond | Thu 27th Apr 2017


Sunny,wonderful weekend in Oxford - Rating 5/5

Stayed in hotel for one night with my family.Excellent choice for a hotel,close to town with taxi 6 minutes,free wifii clean,comfortable beds,great breakfast with lots of choice.Free car park, we also could use next day after check out.The staff very friendly and helpful.High recommended.Thank you very much.

Reviewer:Gosia Gagala | Mon 10th Apr 2017


excellent stay - as always - Rating 5/5

This is my 4th stay at The Balkan Lodge. It is a perfect place to stay away from the city.Comfy beds clean room, excellent breakfast with plenty of choices.i have recommended to all my friends! staff are charming!!

Reviewer:Shirley Robertshaw | Tue 5th Jul 2016


Easter visit - Rating 4/5

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights on the nights of 6 - 7 April. The welcome was warm and friendly, the room pleasant. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel only a short bus ride from the centre of Oxford. Will stay again next time we visit Oxford and recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Munton | Tue 10th Apr 2012


Weekend in Oxford - Rating 4/5

Balkan Lodge was excellent. Quiet room even though overlooking a busy road. Clean and comfortable. Friendly and welcoming. Plenty of good advice about getting in and out of Oxford - just ten minutes away on a regular bus service from across the road. Breakfast perfectly adequate. Easy parking at the rear.

Reviewer:Dave McCall | Mon 26th Mar 2012


Good value for money - Rating 4/5

We have stayed at the Balkan Lodge Hotel several times and for the price can highly recommend it for cleanliness and comfort.The staff are very friendly and helpful.It is very convenient for the city centre.There is an excellent choice for breakfast and very filling.We shall certainly stay there again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nancy Robson | Mon 22nd Aug 2011


Tired hotel but decent value - Rating 4/5

I booked the 4 poster room for my girlfiends birthday as we'd never stayed in a 4 poster before. The hotel itself could do with updating it's decor but the staff were friendly and the room was clean. The 4 poster bed itself was great and would cost a lot more to stay in one in most places, the hotel is close enough that you can walk into the centre without too much hassle or taxi's aren't that expensive either, there was a bit of traffic noise at night as you really had to leave the window open during the night as there was no A/C and it was a hot summers evening. Breakfast was ok with a decent choice of hot foods alongside the usual cereals etc, though the quality of the ingredients (bacon/sausage etc) left a little to be desired. Overall a pleasant stay, though I'm not sure I'd bother with a normal room here the 4 poster is well worth booking if you want to experience one!

Reviewer:Mr. Alastair Rutt | Mon 4th Jul 2011


Our stay - Rating 4/5

A friendly welcome with infomative advicecomfortable and clean room good parking on site, will again when coming to Oxford.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian Rounce | Thu 30th Jun 2011


Excellent - Rating 4/5

We stayed one night 20th June 2011.We were very comfortable and well looked after.Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol BARNARD | Thu 23rd Jun 2011


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

I honestly enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and quiet. The staff was very polite and helpful. If I had more comfortable shoes with me I would enjoy walking to the city centre instead of taking the bus. In case I have to visit Oxford again in the future, I will definitely choose this hotel.

Reviewer:Miss. Aikaterini Organtzi | Fri 10th Jun 2011


Nice & Quiet - Rating 3/5

Nice and quiet hotel! I would recommend it to a friend!

Reviewer:Mr. AlejandroMora | Sun 29th May 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Bar
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Laundry
  • Ironing Service
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian